Extraordinary group of people appointed to lead New Zealand’s future health system.

30 Sep 2021

For HG, it has truly been a great privilege to have worked with the Health and Disability Review Transition Unit, in partnership with Atahaia Consulting, on the first phase of the reform journey.

As part of this process, an extraordinary group of people have been appointed to govern New Zealand’s future health system.

“This Government is building a truly national health system to provide consistent, high-quality health services right across the country. This is another step towards fixing the health system, so it works for everyone,” Health Minister Hon Andrew Little says.

“The future health system will mean New Zealanders will be able to have equitable access to healthcare to live longer, with the best possible quality of life, no matter who they are or where they live.”

Click here to read the press release.

Health New Zealand members

Rob Campbell (Chair) – an experienced professional director with extensive union, public and private sector governance experience.

Amy Adams – a former New Zealand National Party politician, Member of Parliament for Selwyn and Cabinet Minister.

Cassandra Crowley – a Chartered Accountant and a Barrister and Solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand, with extensive governance experience.

Vui Mark Gosche – a senior leader within both the Samoan and Pasifika communities, and across the health, disability and community sectors of New Zealand, and former Member of Parliament and Cabinet Minister.

Dame Karen Poutasi – medically qualified with a specialisation in public health and significant governance and leadership experience in the health and education sectors, including CE of the New Zealand Qualifications Authority and Director General of Health.

Vanessa Stoddart – a senior leader with executive and governance experience in the manufacturing, packaging, airline and engineering industries with a strong focus on change management and performance improvement.

Dr Curtis Walker (Te Whakatōhea rāua ko Ngāti Porou) – a general physician and kidney specialist with MidCentral DHB who has extensive experience in governance, clinical leadership and public policy.

Sharon Shea (Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāti Hauā, Ngāti Hine, Ngāti Hako)– current Chair of the Bay of Plenty DHB and an experienced leader across the health, disability and community sector. Ms Shea will also serve as Co-Chair of the Māori Health Authority.

Māori Health Authority members

Sharon Shea (Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāti Hauā, Ngāti Hine, Ngāti Hako) Co-Chair, Māori Health Authority; and Māori Health Authority representative on Health New Zealand Board – current Chair of the Bay of Plenty DHB and an experienced leader across the health, disability and community sector. Ms Shea will also serve on the Health New Zealand Board.

Tipa Mahuta (Waikato, Maniapoto and Ngapuhi) Co-Chair, Māori Health Authority – current Deputy Chair of the Counties Manukau District Health Board, with a background in facilitation, research, policy and community development, and extensive Iwi governance experience.

Dr Sue Crengle (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Mamoe, Waitaha) – a specialist in general practice and public health medicine, and an experienced researcher who is Professor, Hauora Māori, at Otago Medical School.

Dr Mataroria Lyndon (Ngāti Hine, Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Whātua, Ngāti Wai, Waikato) – Equity Lead at Mahitahi Hauora Primary Health Organisation and a Senior Lecturer in Medical Education at the University of Auckland.

Lady Tureiti Moxon (Ngāti Pahauwera, Ngāti Kahungunu, Kai Tahu) – an experienced leader in the Māori health, education, social, and justice sectors at a local, regional and national level.

Fiona Pimm (Ngāi Tahu, Kāti Māmoe, Waitaha) – an executive leader with extensive experience in governance roles in the health sector, government agencies, community NGO, local iwi and runanga.

Awerangi Tamihere (Ngāti Kauwhata, Rangitane, Ngāti Porou, Rongowhakaata, Kai Tahu)

– an senior leader with extensive experience working across central government, regional crown entities, the private sector, and with her local iwi.

Dr Chris Tooley (Ngāti Kahungunu) – an experienced governor and Chief Executive of Te Puna Ora o Mataatua based in Whakatāne which provides healthcare and social services across the Eastern Bay of Plenty.

To find more information, visit: https://www.futureofhealth.govt.nz/